//
you're reading...
Beauty Buzz

March Empties

Here we are again at the end of another month and it’s the blog post where I show you my beauty trash a.k.a. products I have used up.  There are quite a few that I have also respectfully retired from my stash as they were getting very old and in my opinion, unsafe to continue using.

When I read reviews from someone who has used the entire product, their recommendations are taken a bit more seriously because of the length of time they spent with the item.  They used it during different weather, sometimes seasons, day in and day out.  Here’s my opinions and please remember that this is how the products worked for me, but they might work differently for you.

2015-03-31 14.46.18Paul Mitchell Tea Tree Oil Special Shampoo smells great and really clears out your sinuses if you feel stuffed up.  I found this did not help my scalp psoriasis, but made my head drier and it stung any area that was super sensitive.  John hated it because it made is hair “fuzzy”.  We won’t be buying this again, but we did use the entire bottle because it is about $20 a bottle.  This product gets a Buzz Off rating from AngelaBee

Garnier Fructis Damage Eraser Fortifying Conditioner I received free last year from Influenster.  I used this on the ends of my hair to use it up, but it doesn’t work well with my scalp so I won’t be repurchasing this, although I did enjoy the scent and help with split ends.  This product gets a positive Buzz rating from AngelaBee

Mary Kay TimeWise Body Targeted Action Toning Lotion will get repurchased when I use up my other body lotions.  I get in a hurry and forget to apply lotion every day so these last me forever it seems.  This one has a nice light grapefruit smell and hydrates well.  It reportedly helps tone and firm your skin, but I never use it consistently enough to test that out.  This product gets a positive Buzz rating from AngelaBee

The Body Shop Shea Body Butter is not my favourite smell so I won’t be repurchasing this one.  I do love the body butter effect on my skin so will be buying more, just in other scents.  I keep these on my night stand and use every night on my hands and elbows.  Sometimes also my legs.  This product gets a Buzz Off rating from AngelaBee

Avon Naturals Body Care Silky Vanilla Hydrating Shower Gel is fantastic.  I usually go through one or two of these body washes each month.  They moisturize the skin, foam up well on a shower sponge, and there hasn’t been one fragrance that I haven’t liked.  As always, here’s my plug for Julie’s Avon Page (if you are in Canada).    Check it out she’s got a contest going on right now too.  This product gets a BEE Shopping recommendation from AngelaBee

Landeva Organics Oatmeal and Pink Clay Facial Soap is empty.  I used half of this on my face and half as a body soap.  I am currently using this brand’s detox soap, but already repurchased the Pink Clay.  I really love all the products I’ve received and purchased, plus they are a Canadian company.  Click here to visit their website.    This product gets a BEE Shopping recommendation from AngelaBee

Aveeno Active Naturals Fresh Essentials Hydrating Night Cream with vitamins A, C, & E I received free from Tug, a public relations company representing Aveeno, to test our and review here on my blog.  I am kind of missing this night cream in my routine.  I applied it to both my face and neck each evening after cleansing.  It has a Spring scent to it, fresh and light floral.  It does take a couple minutes to absorbs into your skin.  I think this would work best during Spring and Fall as I found this winter my skin, particularly my nose and mouth needed extra hydration.  I expect the Night Cream may be too rich for my skin in summer when it tends to be Combination.  I have alot of moisturizers and night creams to use up now, but I might repurchase this in the future when it’s on sale and I had a coupon.  This product gets a positive Buzz rating from AngelaBee

Sample of Avon elements moisture boost Daily Moisture Cream with SPF 15 oil free formula with Camellia Tea Leaf Complex.  I don’t normally like fragrance in my skin care products, but this one was OK.  It moisturized my face all day without being oily, but I did get a couple pimples the day after using this.  It could quite possibly be just a coincidence, but as I only had enough in the sample for one day’s use, I can’t test it out to see if this was the cause of the breakout or not.  If I didn’t have four other moisturizers open right now, I would try this one out for a month.  Thank you for the free sample Julie!!  Ask Julie at Julie’s Avon page for more details.  This product gets a positive Buzz rating from AngelaBee

Mary Kay Makeup Finishing Spray needs to be sold in a larger bottle.  I love this stuff.  When you finish your makeup just hold 20 cm away from your face, close your eyes and give it a couple sprays in an X formation and a couple in a T formation.  Helps keep your makeup on longer.  I have a bad habit of touching my chin and cheeks so this helped with longevity for blushes and foundation in those areas.  I will be repurchasing this item.  This product gets a BEE Shopping recommendation from AngelaBee

Julep Plumping Lip Primer is has only been used 5 or 6 times and it is being respectfully retired.  There is a push button on the bottom that clicks the product up through the sponge tip applicator.  I do not like the goopy consistency of this on my lips nor the colour or smell.  I can only compare it to the colour of concealer with a sticky feel that sits on top of your lips.  It doesn’t help your lip liners or lipsticks stay on and it changed their colours.  I do not recommend this product to anyone.  This product gets a Buzz Off rating from AngelaBee

2015-03-31 14.47.20MK Signature Blonde Brow Pencil worked well and I have no complaints about it, but I really prefer a wax and setting powder for my brows.  I have one more of these to use up and then won’t be purchasing brow pencils anymore.  This product gets a positive Buzz rating from AngelaBee

Mary Kay Eye Crease Brush has already been replaced with a new one.  The hairs were starting to look bad and were falling out as I use this every time I do my eye makeup.  This is probably one of my favourite brushes.  This product gets a BEE Shopping recommendation from AngelaBee

e.l.f. Concealer/Highlighter duo in Fair/Glow is a convenient dual ended beauty item, but mine broke in half so the packaging has some issues.  I used up the concealer way before the highlighter.  Both are liquid with a sponge tip applicator (like a lip gloss).  The concealer has some brightening effects to it so works well under the eyes, but I wouldn’t use it if you have a pimple.  I did enjoy the liquid highlighter and used it on my forehead, temples, cheekbones, and cupid’s bow before applying cream to powder foundation.  Convenient for travelling.  I have other concealers and highlighters that I prefer so I won’t be repurchasing, but I did like this duo.  This product gets a positive Buzz rating from AngelaBee

3 Mary Kay Granite Mineral Eye Colour samples found in my kit that have been there for a long time.  I thought it would be better for me to use them and get some newer samples for my kit.  I forgot how much I like this eye shadow and will be pulling that one out when I finish the other 5 samples I have.  This product gets a positive Buzz rating from AngelaBee

Mary Kay Pink Stardust Mineral Powder Highlighter got a weird shiny, hard film over the top of it so it has been respectfully retired.

2015-03-21 16.54.51Mary Kay Compact including 15 eye shadows, 2 blushes, and a pressed powder.  I have had this compact and these items for years, which is why I shouldn’t keep using them.  There is a shelf life to powder cosmetics and I am well past that.  It was tough to say goodbye but I have lots of the new mineral eyes shadows, blushes, and powders from Mary Kay that I can substitute.

2015-03-31 14.46.37Bath & Body Works Pumpkin Gingerbread and Cinnamon Frosting Mini Mason Jar Candles will be repurchased if they bring our these fragrances next Christmas. This product gets a BEE Shopping recommendation from AngelaBee

Sparta Country Candles Tealight (can’t remember the scent) I received this in a swag bag at a Tourism Conference last month.  I found this VERY florally so wouldn’t purchase this exact scent, but next time I am in Sparta I will pick up some of their candles with the coupon I got.  I’ve had their candles before and enjoy them alot.  Click Here to visit their website.  This product gets a positive Buzz rating from AngelaBee

About angelabee

BEE-lieve The BUZZ!! Beauty Consultant and Blogger Historic House Museum Manager Earning Diploma in Cultural Resource Management

Discussion

One thought on “March Empties

  1. lovely jar candles:)

    Like

    Posted by Ola | April 11, 2015, 6:50 am

Leave a Reply

BEE Organized

Beauty Boutique New Arrivals

Lancôme Canada
Buy One Bundle, Get One Bundle from The Honest Company! 300x250

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,781 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

