//
you're reading...
Random Thoughts

Couple’s Crockpot Cooking Fail

I have to preface this story by saying that cooking is not on the top of my priority list.  I’m not horrible at it, I just don’t enjoy it.  I’m posting this in the hopes you will find some amusement from this fail.

So I really thought yesterday I was going to have to go out and buy a new crockpot.  The last time I used ours to make hot chocolate for Winter Family Fun Day and it just didn’t get hot enough to boil.  John and I thought it was a fluke so yesterday morning we put a pork tenderloin in to cook all day for Sunday dinner.  It was completely frozen when we started but by 8:30pm we were sure the crockpot was a dud because the inside of the pork was still frozen.  The crockpot wasn’t even really hot either.

John made us eggs for dinner and we continued to let the pork cook (12 hours total and still partly frozen).  We turned it off at bedtime and then I started it back up this afternoon.  It still wasn’t getting up to temperature after an hour or working right like it used to.  That’s when John asked me why the one icon around the control knob was different from the others?

The first on the left says OFF – self explanatory.  Next is one straight line which we thought was low.  After that is 2 straight lines which we thought was medium.  Next is 3 wavy lines which we both thought was high, which is why they were wavy.  Super high temperatures would radiate heat equals a wavy icon right?  Wrong!!!

Three wavy lines are apparently not high, but warm.  We felt like idiots.  Within 20 minutes of setting the controls to 2 straight lines (which is HIGH) we had boiling juices and were able to eat supper after 2 hours of cooking.  DUH!!  Wouldn’t the warm setting be better between OFF and 1 line?  Sort of like OFF, low (warm), medium and high?  This makes sense to me but apparently not to the manufacturers of my crockpot.

About angelabee

BEE-lieve The BUZZ!! Beauty Consultant and Blogger Historic House Museum Manager Earning Diploma in Cultural Resource Management

Discussion

One thought on “Couple’s Crockpot Cooking Fail

  1. I had the exact same problem. I was cooking butternut squash soup and had it on warm the whole time. I also though the 3 lines meant high. So, it reads low high and the warm. Backwards in my eyes.I’m not really enjoying this crockpot at all. I used it again today and supper was done in half the time and I had it on low. At least I think I did.

    Like

    Posted by Karen Ferguson | March 23, 2017, 8:36 pm

Leave a Reply

BEE Organized

Beauty Boutique New Arrivals

Lancome Canada
The Honest Company
$10.99 Hair Spray & Dry Shampoo Sale at Beauty Brands. Shop Now.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,788 other followers

